#Book Tour – The Spanish House; Cherry Radford

Book tour stop! Today I’m delighted to be the host for The Spanish House, a contemporary romance written by Cherry Radford.

First thing first, let me thank Anne and the publisher, Aria/Head of Zeus, for providing me with an e-copy of this book. Much obliged *hat tip* 

MEET THE BOOK

Juliana makes a modest living as an ‘ethnic’ TV/film extra – even though the only connections with her Spanish heritage are her cacti, Spanish classes, and some confused memories of a Spanish mother she hasn’t seen since she was seven.

When her beloved Uncle Arturo offers her the chance to discover her roots while housesitting his coastal home in a quiet corner of Andalusia, Juliana can’t believe her luck. Especially when he reveals that the house will be hers if she fulfils ten life-enhancing ‘Conditions’ within 90 days.

Redecoration of the house and a visit to the old film studio where her mother used to sew costumes seem ridiculously simple tasks for such a wonderful reward. But little does Juliana realise that there are family secrets and inherited rivalries awaiting her in sunny Spain, and the condition that she has to ‘get on with the neighbours’ – who include a ruggedly handsome but moody artist – may be harder than she thinks.

The perfect escapist read for fans of Rosanna Ley, Jo Thomas and Sue Moorcroft.

352 pages
Contemporary romance
Expected publication: 03/22

Purchase link: Amazon.com

READ MY REVIEW

Cover: I love it! The pretty blue door caught my eye right away, like cool covers always do.

Radford promised me a summer romance and hey, she did deliver. The Spanish House is a quirky yet nostalgic story about an actress on a quest for happiness, a happiness that goes hand in hand with a list of tasks she’s supposed to fulfill, starting with the painting of her uncle’s house. Juliana proves to be a good natured niece and a relatable character throughout the whole story. She’s well-written, so sympathizing with her comes easy enough.

I’m not so taken by Josemi instead. There, I said it. He’s an interesting character and I think he’s been written right; I’m just not a fan of his behavior here and there. What matters the most, however, is that he clicks with Juliana as the novel progresses, compensating and completing her.

The cast of secondary characters offers a solid background, from uncle Arturo to Dolores to Francisco. I also appreciate the family secret plot twist, a tried and true trope that never fails to bring me joy.

Last but not least, Redford’s style: it reads well, if a little peculiar at the beginning. The general feeling it gives is alike to putting on an old, well-loved dress. Cozy – even when it’s summer!

MEET THE AUTHOR

Graphical user interface, text

Description automatically generated

2 thoughts on “#Book Tour – The Spanish House; Cherry Radford

Leave a Reply