#Book Tour – Murder at the House on the Hill; V. Walters

Book tour stop! Today I’m delighted to be the host for Murder at the House on the Hill, a cozy crime mystery written by Victoria Walters.

First thing first, let me thank Rachel and the publisher, Hera Books, for providing me with an e-copy of this book. Much obliged *hat tip* 

MEET THE BOOK

Once Upon A Crime…

Nancy Hunter and her grandmother Jane Hunter run the Dedley Endings Bookshop, selling crime, thriller and mystery books, in a small, quiet Cotswold village where nothing ever happens…

That is, until the wealthy and reclusive Roth family open up their mansion for the first time in thirty years, inviting the people of Dedley End to a lavish engagement party.

While everyone is thrilled to finally look around the mansion on the hill, the festivities are quickly cut short when beautiful Lucy, recently married to young Harry Roth, is found dead after being pushed over the first-floor balustrade.

But who among the guests could have been capable of her murder – and why?

Nancy and Jane decide to investigate – after all, not only do they own a crime themed bookshop, they were also both named after famous literary detectives – but soon wonder if they’ve taken on more than they can handle. Especially when it seems the killer has worked out that they’re hot on their heels…

Can they catch the murderer before the murderer catches up with them? Or will there be a deadly ending to this story?

Join the unlikeliest detective duo for the first of

The Dedley End Mysteries series, for fans of Richard Osman and Charlaine Harris’ Aurora Teagarden series.


Cozy mystery crime
Dedley End series – Book one
Publication date: 23/09/21
Hera Books

Purchase links
AMZ
Kobo
Apple 

READ MY REVIEW

Cover: Lovely! A little creepy without overdoing it – perfect for the genre.

You know, after two almost failed attempts at a quality cozy mystery, I was starting to despair. Did I just pick the wrong books or was the genre not for me?

I’m pleased to say it was an unlucky streak and nothing more: Murder at the House on the Hill is a fabulous story, one I’m glad I’ve been able to read.

The story follows Nancy Hunter, bookseller and improbable detective; after Lucy Roth gets murdered during a party, Nancy makes a bet with Johnathan, vowing to catch the killer before the police. You’ll have to find out by yourself what happens next, but trust me when I say that you’ll have fun. Walters has the skills to create an engaging novel—I’m told it’s the first of a new series—with a cool build up and a satisfying delivery.

Grammar and style are spot on, something that deserves a whole GR star itself. The plot is well-crafted, as I already mentioned, with clever clues and red herrings – yes! Mc-wise, Nancy is a sympathetic character, one who can hold up the bulk of the book without boring the reader; maybe her only flaw is her kindness. It reads as naivety here and there, while the minor characters may appear more realistic. Still, there are people like her in the world, and this is just a personal note.

The Roth family acts as a good supporting cast, just like Johnathan and Jane. Richard is unpleasant, and I’m sure this is how Walters meant him to be. Good job here.

All in all, Murder at the House on the Hill has earned a full 5 stars review. I hope to read more about Nancy Hunter and Dedley End in the future.  

MEET THE AUTHOR

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of the bestselling GLENDALE HALL series, which continues with its third book HOPEFUL HEARTS at GLENDALE HALL in September, as well as two other standalone novels – SUMMER at the KINDNESS CAFE, and THE SECOND LOVE of my LIFE. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for two RNA awards. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s